help mixing Instant Ocean Salt

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by adamSpline, Aug 8, 2008.

  1. adamSpline

    adamSpline Plankton

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    I have been using Instant Ocean Sea Salt, but I have not had great results getting the salt to dissolve in the water.

    This is what I do... two gallons of water, with one cup of salt, mixed in a bucket, stir it a bit every hour or so, let it sit over night, in the morning there are still salt particles, I stir it more and more, but still salt on bottom of bucket and floating in water.

    Eventually, I do just add it to the tank (the hydrometer gives my tank a good reading). But, I am surprised it takes so long to mix? Is this normal? Am I doing something wrong? Could it have something to do with my local tap water (oops... yes I am using tap water that is de-choronized... I know.. I know). Any other ideas?

    Typically, I try to go to the get real ocean water once a week, so really I just mix salt for emergencies (which tends to happen more than I want)

    Thanks

    -Adam
  2. Click Here!

  3. cuttingras

    cuttingras Starving Artist :)

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    4,886
    Location:
    Louisville, GA



    stick a powerhead in with it and let it sit overnight
  4. Bogie

    Bogie Snowflake Eel

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,350
    Location:
    CT
    The problem might be your tap water. But how much undissolved salt are we talking about here? Half a teaspoon or less at the bottom of the bucket? Might not be a big concern, but salt mix does have a mix of elements in it, not just (NaCl) salt. So hopefully that isn't other undissolvable trace elements that your tank needs. I don't see in your sig that you have any coral?
    1 person likes this.
  5. JohnnyBoy

    JohnnyBoy Purple Spiny Lobster

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Werd!:smoking: That's exactly what I did and it worked for me.
  6. gazog

    gazog Kole Tang

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,788
    I use a 5 gallon bucket, 5 gallons of water 1.5 cups of salt and drop a powerhead into it overnight. Check and add salt as needed the next day and if I am using right away ok if not I leave powerhead in it till I need.
  7. Bogie

    Bogie Snowflake Eel

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,350
    Location:
    CT
    Gazog, if i were you I'd be using 2.5 cups for 5 gallons or 1.5 cups salt mix for 3 gallons. I mix to 1.025 SG, but maybe your SG is lower for some reason?
  8. Click Here!

  9. gazog

    gazog Kole Tang

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,788
    Since I am using it for my reef tanks 1.025, my adult seahorses 1.021-22 and baby seahorses 1.019 I start out on the low end and add as needed to bring it up to speed. I can always add more salt but in a 5 gallon bucket it kind of hard to add water when its already full to the top.
  10. Bogie

    Bogie Snowflake Eel

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,350
    Location:
    CT
    Ok, that makes sense. I can't mix a full 5 gallons though, because it would be too hard to pour it into the tank w/o spilling everywhere. I only mix up 4 gallons at a time and pour it in, b/c I don't have my extra little Rio powerhead setup to pump water back into the tank. When I get a bigger tank w/ a sump and bigger mixing bucket, then you can bet I'll be using a pump to get the water back into the tank/sump system. With only 1 system running, I really don't even measure exactly, but it always stays at 1.025. I guess you could say that I could mix my tank water in my sleep. ;D
  11. PharmrJohn

    PharmrJohn Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,613
    Location:
    Shelton, Washington
    That solved the problem for me.
  12. cannedmulder

    cannedmulder Teardrop Maxima Clam

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    800
    Location:
    Redmond OR
    I mix mine in a 50 gal drum going constaintly and it has its own pump in it. That way I can get water when I need it by just pumping it out. I just hook up my line to my RO unit when I need to add some H2O.