Urgent Help! ICH, ammonia spike and loosing fish! :(

Discussion in 'ASAP' started by swhetzel, Apr 17, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. swhetzel

swhetzel Plankton

Hello All! I am new to the reef forum, so bare with me! Also, my husband can give more specifics on the tank if needed :) I am hoping you all can help solve some of our problems. We have had our 90 gallon predrilled saltwater tank established for a year now. We have enjoyed the tank, and have had no problems until recently. We have a 120 Gal protien skimmer, which is placed in our refugium (a 100 gal wet/dry with no prefilter). We currently have numerous corals; including several pipe organs, several branches of frogspawn coral, numerous zoos and sps, favias, frags and brains. 2 percula clown fish, a black clown, a tomato clown, a royal gamma, 3 blue chromis, 5 firefish gobys, 3 pajama cardnials, a bi-color angel, a yellow headed sleeper goby, a blue and pink spotted goby and a blue hippo tang. (yes i know we have a lot of fish, however we have maintained more than this until our tank got ich) About 3 weeks ago, we noticed white spots on our 2 butterfly fish (long nose, and heniochus) this progressed when we started treating it with kordon ich attack (herbal formula) and the ich started attacking our yellow tang, blonde naso tang, and blue powder tang. Unfortunately, we lost those 3 tangs, and the two butterfly fish. Our PH dropped to 7.8 overtime( which i have been reluctant to raise it, knowing our ammonia level is high) and has remained at this level. Now i can see our corals closing up, and non-colorful like usual. Our nitrate level today is 20 ppm, and nitrite is 0. SG is 1.022. Temp is 79.8. When we noticed our fish dying, our ammonia level at it's highest was 1.0, and has maintained between 0.25-0.50. Last night, i bought the aquarium pharmacuticles ammo-lock and put 45 ML's in our refugium (as directed). Today our ammonia level is