HDR High Dynamic Range photos

Discussion in 'Aquarium Photography' started by 2in10, Sep 3, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. 2in10

    2in10 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,258
    Location:
    Sparks, NV
    Bustopher, I posted shots while you were posting.

    I set up the camera to compensate for their effects so the RAW files were already adjusted. I used the included Canon DPP HDR tool and that seems to help. Other programs only pic up the base RAW data.
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. Biocube

    Biocube Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,499
    Location:
    Northern, IL
    If anyone has an iPhone they can do a basic version of HDR already, I use it mainly for pictures inside with windows in the frame.

    You get a clear shot of what's inside and outside.

    Very cool pics John!
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. 2in10

    2in10 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,258
    Location:
    Sparks, NV
    Thanks, yup they have apps for that LOL.
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. Vinnyboombatz

    Vinnyboombatz Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6,344
    Location:
    Dunnellon, Florida
    Great shots John!!!!8)
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. Matt Rogers

    Matt Rogers Kingfish Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    13,466
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    Good to know - so is there software to combine?

    Nice tank shots! 8)
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. Sacul1573

    Sacul1573 Millepora

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    948
    Great images John!

    I've seen something similar in my dad's new Sony dslr... It will take 3 photos in rapid succession, and then combine to form a similar image to what you showed in the first post. Absolutely incredible!
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. Click Here!

  9. 2in10

    2in10 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,258
    Location:
    Sparks, NV
    Thanks Vinny

    Thanks Matt, yes there is, several free and pay software. I used FDRTools Basic which is freeware for the cityscape and Canon's DPP HDR software that came with the camera for the tanks. Most of the software available online allow you to use more than 3 photos which can result in more data in the final shot and a better looking outcome. You can also make it look very surreal with most of the programs.

    Thanks Lucas, the top of line cameras are all going to do that and many can bracket more than 3 shots now. You still need software on a PC to combine more than 3 shots I believe.