Hammer Coral is shrinking - PLEASE HELP!!!

Discussion in 'LPS Corals' started by eddie2OOO, Oct 11, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. eddie2OOO

eddie2OOO Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

I am new to SW hobby and have just purchased this 6G nano system from craigslist. The seller said that his hammer coral was huge before, but then started to shrink and now it looks like it barely comes out. I've checked all chemical levels and they all read fine. I am not feeding it, weekly CW 20%. For light i've got one bulb of T5HO 460nm Actinic and T5HO 12 KK Power White and run both of them 8 hours a day. I don’t have any fish and i will also post pics of closest corals. Please help.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Click Here!

3. MoJoe

MoJoe Dragon Wrasse

hmm it doesn't look well at all, although euphs are very resilient that still looks like it's on its way out.

- How long have you had it in the tank, has it always looked that bad?
    - What type of lighting was it under in the sellers tank?
    - So, he sold it to you and was like "it's been shrinking" before you got it?
    - what's your salinity at? (your other corals look fine though)

If all your params are fine, your lighting is ok IMO, I feel like this is specific to the coral. I've had a frogspawn that melted suddenly due to brown jelly disease, hopefully it's not that.

4. eddie2OOO

Thanks for the reply MoJoe.
    I just purchased this tank from someone on craigslist on Tuesday. He said it was huge and very healthy about 6 months ago and was slowly started to shrink.
    - For light i am using seller's light - T5HO 460nm Actinic (18watt) and T5HO 12 KK Power White (18watt) and run both of them 8 hours a day. It is possible that the bulbs are old and need to be replaced (do you think i should replace them now?)