Green Mossy Algae Out of Control ...

Discussion in 'Algae' started by markgsiy, Oct 8, 2003.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. Jason McKenzie

    Jason McKenzie Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    5,538
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,Canada
    Hey Mark,
    J&L never sells cured LR. I would check out (Call First) Hidden Reef Aquatics in Abbotsford they usually have Cured LR. I would also pick up a Phosphate sponge to get ride of you phosphates. I'm not to sure if removing 1/2 for the gravel will help too much I would go all or nothing. But I understand with everything you currently have in the tank that is a big job. I'm not sure were the Silicates and coming from, but I suspect it's from the filters and the gravel.


    it's best to get both Phosphates and silicates to zero.

    J
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. markgsiy

    markgsiy Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,British_Columbia
    Hi Jackets..

    Oh well.. then all it is....

    Just to let you know.. I have already started to convert my current system.

    As of today, I removed 99% of the old gravel that I had and replaced it with about 40 lbs of live argonite sand.

    In the process, I also removed the UG Filter completely from my system.

    What a Chore !!! I had to use 2 " 10 Gallon muck buckets" for transfer/clean/transfer back to my main tank.

    I also cleaned out the external filter (inside and out) and put in clean, brand new cotton filters but did not clean out the sponge as that probably has the bacteria I need for the next few weeks.

    Next week or the week after, I will try to get some Live Rock - about 15 lbs worth. I know a store just off Kingsway and Boundary (Coral Ocean Aquarium) where I know they sell cured Live rock.

    I will also replace that external filter with a really good Protein Skimmer. The Prism Pro Deluxe looks nice, is affordable and looks like a good hang-on type. and Yes... that means that I will have 2 skimmers !

    what do you think ?

    The next problem is trying to increase my lighting level as 110W PC are just not powerful enough!

    BTW, Here's a new pic of my most recent change...

    Mark
     
  4. Jason McKenzie

    Jason McKenzie Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    5,538
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,Canada
    Looks Great Mark.
    Man I can imagine that you were very busy this week end.

    Does that LFS have a website??

    J
     
  5. markgsiy

    markgsiy Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,British_Columbia
    Yea.. I was busy all weekend... but I think it was worth it. You are correct that UG filters are passe and I should upgrade. I figure this weekend was the best as I had 3 days to complete it.

    As for the LFS, I don't think they have a web site... Although I do have thier card.. here is the info in case u are interested.

    Contact: Colin Yan
    Coral Ocean Aquarium
    3622 Kingsway, Vancouver, BC V5R5M2
    Tel: 604-733-1888
    Cell: 604-720-4189

    BTW, what protein skimmer do you use ?

    MS
     
  6. nedrah

    nedrah Plankton

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    ,
    Welcome to the green bloom. I have had this problem before. I either got it from adding some real seawater when adding a blacktip reef shark that was caught in the ocean. Or got it from having the lighting on too long. I cleaned it fully like you did three times. It returned stronger than ever.

    P.S . Your reef aquarium is awesome !!
     
  7. markgsiy

    markgsiy Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,British_Columbia
    Hi Nedrah,

    I sure hope "it" doesn't come back. I have been fortunate to live through a variety of "bad conditions" in my tank.

    Although in this case, it is quite possible that I am missing a few items such as enough live rock and a proper sand base as well as proper clean water. With my phosphate high, this is the reason for my green algae bloom.

    Oh well, I guess time will tell.

    BTW, thanks for the support !!
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. karlas

    karlas Fire Goby

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,327
    Location:
    berwick, PA,Pennsylvania
    one thing that will help maintain bad alge is regular water changes. one thing i found is you tested your tank water for phosphates but have you tested your change water? sometimes the water  you use can contain phosphates or nitrates and you can be putting in what your trying to take out. but looking at the before and after pics there is a major improvment there. now that you have the main part straightend out you can add rock as you get it and if you need more sand that can always be added later also. if there is clouding once it settles a turkey baster can be used to clean off the rock and corals.
     
  10. markgsiy

    markgsiy Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,British_Columbia
    Thanks karlas... as of today, I tested my water and have brought down my phosphate level to .2ppm, however my silica is still high at 1ppm. I will keep using the phosphate sponge for a few more days and keep it under control.

    wrt to the water changes, I am using the tap water filter from aquarium pharmacuticals with the hopes that this will stop any phosphate or silica from my water changes. Although, I have not tested the filtered water...hmmm

    In any case, as you can see, I do need more LR and a thicker sand bed.. I think another 20 lbs of live sand should be enough. I will be adding 10 more lbs of live rock this weekend and probably another 10 more the following weekend and hope that will solve most of my problems.

    Thanks for your ideas.. they are extremely helpfull !!

    MS
     
  11. markgsiy

    markgsiy Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,British_Columbia
    Jackets.. I hope you will still see this...

    It has been over a week since I started using the Phosphate Sponge and my phosphate has gone down considerably.. however my silica is still high at 1.0ppm. I have changed the ph sponge every 2 days and the silica level hasn't changed any.

    The strange thing too is that the water that comes out of the Tap Water Filter also has a silica level of 1.0ppm although the ph level is almost nil. Is that possible ? That Water Filter is brand new !!

    I am totally confused now !!!

    I am waiting for J&L to move to thier new location so that I can pick up a new Protein Skimmer (Aqua-C Remora or Pro) but that is at least a month from now.

    Any Ideas ???
     
  12. Jason McKenzie

    Jason McKenzie Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    5,538
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,Canada
    markgsiy
    I just spent the last 1/2 hr trying to find what a save level for silicates is. No luck. How is the Algae problem?
    I would try and find how bad 1.0 ppm is. I don't know, I've never had a measurable amount in my tank.
    Your Tank looks good though.

    I would e-mail J&L they may be able to sell you something. Then they don't have to move it