Green Mossy Algae Out of Control ...

Discussion in 'Algae' started by markgsiy, Oct 8, 2003.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. markgsiy

    markgsiy Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,British_Columbia
    Hi Everyone...

    I have just got another problem that I am not sure how to deal with.

    For the past 3 months, I have noticed that this green mossy type algae has been growing everywhere and anywhere and clogging up my power filters. The attached picture shows it growing on one of my dead corals - and I just cleaned it 2 weeks ago and look at it !!!

    This stuff just keeps coming back each and every month.

    Does anyone know what I can do to get rid of it ?

    Is there a shrimp or snail or something that eats it ?

    Or do I have to resort to adding some kind of additive to my tank - against my better judgement as I don't believe in additives as they almost always kill everything else...

    Or do I have to keep cleaning the rocks, sides, filters etc... every month for the next year ???

    Anyone has any ideas on how to get rid of it or at the very least control its growth ???

    Thanks a lot !!

    MS
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. markgsiy

    markgsiy Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,British_Columbia
    Ooops I forgot to attach the picture...
     
    1 person likes this.
  4. Jason McKenzie

    Jason McKenzie Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    5,538
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,Canada
    I'm sorry to asked question instead of give answers but.
    1) what water do you use ->when you filled your tank
    -> for top up
    2) what lighting do you have and what is the K rating of your bulbs
    3) is your external filter and under gravel filter running?
    I got a lot of info from your sig. good Idea.
    4) what and how much do you feed
    5) what are your nitrate, Phosphate, and silicate levels?
    Why are you running an external and under-gravel filter. I personally would not run either but I'm curious who or why you went with that method. Do you have a full tank pic?

    Sorry again for the question
     
  5. markgsiy

    markgsiy Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,British_Columbia
    Thanks for the reply.. here are your answers...

    1. Water Top up.. I just use regular cold water that has been sitting for about 3-4 days, it usually gets to room temp by the time I use it which is about once a week. I don't use any filters or anything as Vancouver water - for the most part - is pretty clean.
    2. I have 2-55 Watt Compact Flourescent and 1-30 Watt Blue Actinic Flourescent. The Actinic is on from about 9:00am-12:00pm and the Compacts are on from about 11:00am-10:00pm. The rating on the Compacts are 10000K. I don't know the rating on the 30 Watt Blue Actinic.
    3. Yes, both undergravel and Externals are running fine. The External filters are changed once a month. 10% water changes are done once a month too.
    4. Food.. usually a mixture of flakes and dried brine shrimps 1xday. Every week, I add about 10ml Marine Snow or DT Plankton. Once to twice a week I feed either frozen brine shrimp, Frozen Plankton or Frozen Bloodworms.
    5. Nitrate is about 6mgl. I don't know my phospate or silicate levels. I don't have a test for these.

    I use both cuz I used to use them when my tank was an all fish tank. When I moved to a Coral tank last year, I just used the same equipment except that I upgraded the lighting from the 36" 30 Watt Blue Actinic to using both the Compact Flourescent and the Actinic.

    Here is my full tank picture... This was taken about a month ago after I just cleaned the rocks and stuff (didn't do the back though...)
     
  6. Jason McKenzie

    Jason McKenzie Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    5,538
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,Canada
    OK.  First I am wondering what the substrate is?  Is it normal aquarium gravel?
    I to live in Vancouver and the water isn't good enough to not use some sort of filter
    This is a link to a local store that sell a wide range of water purifiers.  This one is the best of not a lot of cash
    Tap water filter
    I would also pick up a Phosphate and silicate test kit.  several things could be happening.  Your Gravel could be leaching silicates into the water.  Your filtration system could be leaving a lot of Nitrates in the system (witch algae will consume and multiply) that is why the nitrate levels aren't high.  The top up water and water change water is fill of phosphates causing food for algae.

    Let me know if this helps.

    J
     
  7. markgsiy

    markgsiy Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,British_Columbia
    Hi Jackets....

    Didn't recognize you the first time... too busy looking for a solution....

    Anyway, my substrate is crushed coral rather than the really fine sand. Again, it came from my first tank which was a fish only tank.

    I will try the water filter and get a phosphate and silicate test kit and let you know what the readings are.

    As for the filtration system, should I just remove it ? Maybe I should clean it completely and put in brand new filters ie. start from scratch. I have been changing only 2 of the 4 filters every month as recommended by the manufacturer - to keep the "beneficial bacteria".

    Another thought just came to mind... would you consider removing the External Filter and replacing it with another protein skimmer ? As you know, I already have one, will 2 be better ? What about the Undergravel Filter ?

    MS
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. Jason McKenzie

    Jason McKenzie Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    5,538
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,Canada
    Really if it was me I would get ride of the under gravel and external filters all together. and while your removing the under gravel I would also remove the gravel and replace it with sand. How much Live Rock do you have?

    J
     
  10. markgsiy

    markgsiy Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,British_Columbia
    I have about 10-15 lbs of Live Rock. The LFS said it was cured, but who knows....

    So if - and this is a BIG IF - I remove the undergravel and external filter and put in sand and also remove the crushed coral base, what do I use as a filter ? Just a protein skimmer ?

    How does the water get clean ? Will I have to get a wet/dry or sump or refugium ???

    MS
     
  11. Jason McKenzie

    Jason McKenzie Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    5,538
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,Canada
    I would get more rock usually 1-1.5 pounds per G. Then cure it in a big rubber-maid container with good saltwater a heater and a power head. That is your filter. The Live Rock and a deep sand bed will act as your filter. All I have in my tank is a skimmer and lots of LR.
     
  12. markgsiy

    markgsiy Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,British_Columbia
    Hi Jackets.. It is me again...

    I got a Phosphate test and Silica test Kit. These are the results...

    Phosphate = .7 ppm
    Silica = 1.0 ppm

    Is this too high ? Should I do a water change ?

    I also bought that water filter - one thing.. that plastic connector sure is cheap eh ? I am starting to use filtered water in my tank and we will see what happens.

    I will also remove about half of my substrate and replace it with live sand (Argonite Reef Sand - is this good stuff ?). It looks like the nice fine sand although it isn't as white as I hoped they were. I will try to do this this long weekend otherwise it will have to be next weekend.

    As for the undergravel and External Filters... I will have to wait until I can get my hands on one of those Red Sea Prism Pro Deluxe Skimmers before I throw away the UG/External. I don't think my Seaclone 100 can handle the load...

    I think it is time to visit J&L for some cured live rock.. about 15 lbs worth.. what do you think ?

    Mark