Gonna make my own sump. Need advice

Discussion in 'Filters, Pumps, etc..' started by browntrout, May 13, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. browntrout

browntrout Fire Shrimp

Ok like the title says. I have a 75g tank with a HOB skimmer, and I would like to make a sump/refuge for this setup. Only one problem IM A NOOB. I have some 3/8 thick acrylic in my shop and Im gonna use my laser to cut it out. What size should I make it? Do I need to have any holes in it? Or should I just build it like a 20g rectangle and glue in a seperation wall for the fuge? Any Ideas?

Just for kicks. Here are some pics of my laser cutting some signs. I can cut up to 1" acrylic

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: May 13, 2009
  2. Click Here!

3. browntrout

browntrout Fire Shrimp

Ok so this is my basic understanding of how a sump work

[​IMG]

Few questions, how do I keep the water going from the DT to the sump? Siphon pump etc...? are the diviers right? does general water flow keep the water heading towards the refuge then to the pump back up? I made this drawing this is what's in my head, I can also put my heater in the sump section. I am getting a chiller this week do I need to plumb into that drawing somehow? Any help

4. invert phil

invert phil Millepora

North Yorkshire, England, Europe, Earth, Milkyway,
    Going on advice given by other websites, for 3/8 acrylic; the height should not exceed 12"-18" see website http://www.cichlid-forum.com/articles/diy_acrylic_aquarium.php The length and width will depend on how much space you have below or where ever you want the refugium/sump to be housed. IMO a rectangular tank is better than a square shaped tank, with partitions for refugium (macro algae sand and live rock) and partitions for filtration and aquarium equipment e.g. heater, protein skimmer etc.