Freshwater Ich- Still cycling!

Discussion in 'Fish Disease' started by HolyK, Jun 27, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. HolyK

HolyK Plankton

Hi! I'm relatively new to the fish hobby, so please bear with me.

Last week I got a new 5-gal tank with a feeder Comet and a "mystery" apple snail. Around Sunday/Monday, fish started being a bit lethargic. Didn't really notice until I put in two more similar fish. It finally became so weak and weary that it didn't move except for its front fins and breathing (near the begining of this, it'd eat and then spit flakes back out; after a while, it stopped eating entirely). Wednesday night I grew so worried that I quarentined it until I could take water sample and fish to an aquarium store, but it died overnight, exhibiting no other symptoms.

When setting up the tank, I planted some Aponogeton (sp?) bulbs. One's flourishing, the others have little stubs that'll turn into leaves. (I don't mind killing the aponogeton, though; it was relatively cheap. Just in case this affects the tank, though, I felt it was worth noting)

Day before yesterday I saw a couple of teeny air bubbles on my redder fish's tail, but paid it no mind. Yesterday mid-morning I grew more concerned about the possibility of Ich when I saw the "bubbles" hadn't disappeared. By the afternoon, I noticed there were more than originally, and some on the yellower fish, too.

Today, it's a full outbreak. White specks all over the tail and dorsal fins, but only one or two on the bodies. No scratching or odd behavior yet. My tank is still cycling; yesterday, ammonia was around 0 ppm. Today, it's about 2 ppm. I added 1 Tbsp of aquarium salt yesterday, and am warming up the room to raise the water temp.