First Corals. Pulsing Xenia not looking too hot.

Discussion in 'ASAP' started by brew0688, Jul 24, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. brew0688

brew0688 Fire Shrimp

Hi everyone.

So here is the scoop... I've been running a FOWLR tank for 3 years now. About 4 months ago, I upgraded from my 30g to a 90g. All my livestock made it over, and everything has been doing great.

Last night, I purchased my first 4 coral frags, and got one free! It was 9:30 at night when I placed the corals in my tank.

I got 1 decent sized pulsing xenia, a hammer coral, an eagle eye zoa, and a radio active dragon eye zoa, and a free shelf coral frag of some sort.

So I placed the frags in my tank, and within 30 minutes, the zoa's had opened right up, and the hammer coral was looking pretty good (not as great as when I picked him up at the store). The pulsing xenia was about 1/2 the size it was when I got it, but was slowly pulsing nonetheless.

I was instructed to place the frags all at the bottom of the tank, and move them up slowly over time to allow them to acclimate to the lighting, so that's what I did. I placed everything on the sandbed, except the xenia. I read they light more intense light, so I placed him about 1/3 way up the tank on some LR.

When I woke up this morning, a large hermit was pretty much sitting ontop of him, and had pushed him over in such a way that one of his branches had buckled over. I kicked the hermit off, and when I went to straighten the xenia, it was like snowflakes came off it as I moved it. It is also weeping some sort of mucous like substance. It is now 1/4 the size it was when I bought it, and quite plainly looks like crap. The pompoms or w/e they're called are so small they're almost impossible to make out at this point.

Also, the hammer coral is not opening up much today. (I know it takes time to acclimate, but he's just not as full as he was last night)