Feeding Saltwater Fish While on Vacation

Discussion in 'Fish Food' started by texanjordan, Mar 26, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. texanjordan

texanjordan Peppermint Shrimp

Im new to Saltwater, but not to fish. With freshwater when going on vacation, I would plop in a weekend feeder. What do you do for saltwater fish? How do you keep them fed if you are gone for a week? Does anyone use a automatic feeder? Some advice please.

2. Click Here!

3. amcarrig

amcarrig Super Moderator

Unless you have anthias or some other fish that absolutely needs to be fed every day, I would let them go a week w/o food. There's plenty of bugs and algae in our tank to keep our fish fed while we're gone. If we're gone for longer than 2 weeks, we have a friend stop by to feed.

4. Tangster

Tangster 3reef Sponsor

Like mentioned already I'd not feed them let them feed off the stuff living in the tank.. People feed themselves and their fish to much and to often anyways .

5. ReefWizard

ReefWizard Coral Banded Shrimp

If you have FOWLR, you can go on vacation for a few days without feeding. For reef, unless you have a fully automated monitoring system, having a friend of tank sitter is not a bad idea.

6. johnmaloney

johnmaloney 3reef Sponsor

just a trick I learned and want to share - if you get one of those pill cases, the "M T W Th F Sa Su" etc..and put pre-measured food in there it is semi-fool proof for friends who feed. The automatic ones get jammed....maybe live foods would work. Fish that feed themselves are great...

1 person likes this.
  7. slocal

slocal Doot!

brilliant!

8. Click Here!

9. fischkid2

fischkid2 Dirty Filter Sock