feather duster or aptasia anemone...

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by robnpg, Feb 2, 2005.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. robnpg

robnpg Plankton

Ok, newbie here... I've been curing 40 lbs of marshall island rock in a 55 gallon tank. Anyway, it's been a week now and last night, I saw something, its kind of orangish right now, and I saw three of them in different parts of the rock. It ducks back into its little hole when startled. I'm just wondering if I should go ahead and get the peppermint shrimp this weekend to take them out, or if these are feather dusters.
    Any ideas?

2. Click Here!

3. dano

dano Spaghetti Worm

the brown ones are the aptasia's. i had three pretty large ones and the peppermint shrip ate those right away. one just popped back right next to my mushroom coral. it has a good duck spot, and when the taisa opens my coral wont open fully. but my shrimp are getting used to eating the falling fish food. im tring starving the tank for a day or two, so them shrimp will get hungry.
    anyhow i would take care of them befor they get out of control.

4. Birdlady

Birdlady Finback Whale

Robnpg,

Welcome to 3 Reef!  Is it possible to post a picture?

Feather dusters are usually in a calcified tube they build....do you see anything like that at the base?

I have seen aiptasia described as "orange".  You could try injecting them with lemon juice or boiling water.  Do a search here on aiptasia, you will find several methods of ridding them.

The peppermint shrimp a. can sometimes be confusing as to what is a true peppermint and b. sometimes eats them and other times does not and c. they can bother coral polyps as well. :-/

So unless you really want a peppermint, perhaps you could try some other things first! ;)

Here is a small article :D
    http://www.reefs.org/library/article/hopkins_redfield.html

5. fletch

fletch Kole Tang

Hope this helps

Last edited: Aug 31, 2006