Drilling a glass Aquarium.

Discussion in 'Reef Aquarium Articles and How To's' started by Rustynuts, Nov 9, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. bje

    bje Long-fin Bannerfish

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,628
    Location:
    Illinois
    just got my bit, thanks to a fellow 3reef member, and im about to start drilling a test piece of glass prior to drilling the actual tank.

    edit: success!
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2010
  2. Click Here!

  3. Murano

    Murano Plankton

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    0
    Several cordless drills

    I have several cordless drills, but the only Variable speed drill that I have is 110v. Safety First--so never forget that You are mixing Electricity and Water! If You have a Cordless Variable speed drill---Use It! I started out with the Cordless drill and trying to maintain the speed (RPMs) and everything else is just an unnecessary hassle. Yes, It can be done.

     
  4. bje

    bje Long-fin Bannerfish

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,628
    Location:
    Illinois
    im perplexed. why would i be mixing electricity and water while drilling a hole in my aquarium? pouring water on the glass while drilling is actually not that great at keeping the bit cool. oil works much better.

    but yes, safety first. wear glasses for sure.
     
  5. ezz1r

    ezz1r Feather Star

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Florida
    Forum:


    I am looking into possibly drilling my Oceanic brand 90g BF which i was told is ALL Glass. I will be having a local LFS drill the bulk heads.

    My question is where to actually have them drill the holes?

    Corner ,Center ?
    how many holes ?
    Best Diameter for the holes ?

    Thanks for the feedback crew

    E
     
  6. scott26

    scott26 Ritteri Anemone

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Location:
    Nipomo,CA
    You need to find out what kind of overflow you want traditional overflows would have it drilled in a corner of cent of the bottom panel. But be causious and make sure it is not tempered most assemble aquariums have a tempered bottom and if yours does I will crack when you try to drill it. Your other choice is a overflow coming out the back of the tank and if you want to a bean overflow or herbie would be the.way to go.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  7. ezz1r

    ezz1r Feather Star

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Florida
    Thanks scott26 for beaming up to speed....LOL

    I am under the impression that Oceanic Brand at one time made exclusively all glass aquariums except as you mentioned the bottom which is tempered.

    E
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. scott26

    scott26 Ritteri Anemone

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Location:
    Nipomo,CA
    Not a problem. Wow my auto correct sucks.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  10. reefmonkey

    reefmonkey Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4,427
    Location:
    SE South Dakota
    some leather gloves and a piece of emery cloth. Use one finger and work the cloth along the edge of the glass inside the hole with a little downward pressure. You'll take the sharp edges off of the cut and knock any burs off at the same time. You'll also put a slight round on the edges of the cut.
     
  11. ezz1r

    ezz1r Feather Star

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Florida
    Ah yes Algebra....LOL I will be working with this formula

    TY

    E
     
  12. LGangway

    LGangway Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    After drilling the tank I'd like to add an internal overflow, anyone know inexpensive places to purchase these or can they be made?

    I'd like to have a corner internal, but I could care less if it is 2 sided or rounded...