Do I need a refuguim?

Discussion in 'Refugium' started by willist0, Oct 17, 2015.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. willist0

    willist0 Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Tequesta, Fl
    I just set up a 55 gal reef tank that's currently being filtered by 2 HOB filters. I will be switching to a sump at some point down the road. In doing my research on sumps and refuguims it seem that for a refuguim to be effective it needs to be really big. The owner of my local FS said to have a barely large enough refuguim for my tank I would need a sump of at least 50 gals and bigger would be better. What do you guys think?
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. mdbostwick

    mdbostwick Vlamingii Tang

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,899
    Location:
    Canton OH
    I have a 35g sump on my 55g tank. Now with that said, I have thought about buying another 55g and making that my sump but just for more water volume and space. I don't think it is necessary. So in short, i think any sump is better than no sump.
     
  4. willist0

    willist0 Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Tequesta, Fl
    mdbostwick, I think you might have misunderstood my question. I am going to do a sump, but what I might do is skip the refuguim.
     
  5. civiccars2003

    civiccars2003 Great Blue Whale

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,827
    Location:
    Akron Ohio
    Do you need one, no. Do I recommend one, yes.
     
  6. Va Reef

    Va Reef Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    3,627
    Location:
    Chesapeake, Va
    Yup. If you can have one, why not? I can't really think of any disadvantages to having a refugium. I'll never do a sump without a refugium.
     
    Swisswiss likes this.
  7. hitman35

    hitman35 Purple Spiny Lobster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    453
    Location:
    oakley,ca
    I have a 40 gal sump for my equipment and gonna run a 10 gal strictly for a refugium
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. Piano10

    Piano10 Aiptasia Anemone

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Messages:
    581
    I ran a 55g reef with no sump or refugium. It was a well run tank with no issues. I only ran carbon in my hob filter and the filter was cleaned monthly.

    If I had had the option I would have had sump and refugium only because its more water volume, everything can be in the sump instead of in the DT, and it provides more options and ease to run the system.
     
  10. DSC reef

    DSC reef Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,814
    Location:
    Cocoa, Florida
    It's gonna be personal preference on this one. I'd rather have the space for a big skimmer, I've never ran a refugium.
     
  11. Badcat1058

    Badcat1058 Plankton

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Fordland MO
    Yes your LFS dude is right, to do a refugium right it needs to be a least half the volume of you main tank. But if you do not have the room then a small one is better than no refugium at all. IMHO Check out http://marineplantbook.com/
     
  12. Vu Nguyen

    Vu Nguyen Flamingo Tongue

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    102
    I really want a fuge bigger than the DT. And I want it away on a different location from the DT. I want to hide all the stuff away from the DT.....