DIY light mount for Tao Tronics led

Discussion in 'I made this!' started by salsalito25, Jun 13, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. salsalito25

salsalito25 Stylophora

Keep in mind this is for a 24 gal aqua pod..may work on other tanks also. keep in mind i am not a licenced pro nor claim to be.. lol

Ok a small list if things needed..

Link: Coralife Aqualight Adjustable Mounting Legs

[​IMG]

1ea aluminum flat pieace of metal 2inc x 1/8 x 36
    4pk of 1/2 corner brace. (90deg angle bracket)
    Pkg of machince screws # 10-32x 5/8

Ok and here we go... Take the mounting legs mount to tank with no light on it and measure from one side of mount that pivots to the other that measurement will be used on the aluminum stock.
    Then fun part remove mounts of course. and drill two holes in mounts like first pic.

1st
    [​IMG]

Then line up aluminum stock up on mount and mark it for hole's you just drilled in mounts. Of repeat both sides
    Then measure for your light mount hole that will hold Led ficture. mine measures 5 1/2 inch apart.. Use the #10-32 x 5/8 screws instead of the stock black screws by the plug outlets on leds.
    [​IMG]

also in pic you will see the 90deg angel brackets i use those for extra support so the mount will not have a lean or sag. heres a better pic.
    [​IMG]

here's a back side shot
    [​IMG]

And a few extra shots..
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I disasembled Johny #5 made a few minor torques here and there and painted it to match..

Here's the finished product

[​IMG]

I hope this helps a few DIY Reefers out there...

Oh total out the pocket was Around $26.. and maybe one hour time to assemble..

Here's the old Light system 150 Hqi 20k MH
    [​IMG]

Enjoy and happy reefing..

Last edited: Jun 13, 2012
    1 person likes this.
  2. Click Here!

3. SnooknRedz

SnooknRedz Vlamingii Tang