DIY chiller

Discussion in 'I made this!' started by Yinski, Dec 8, 2004.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Yinski

Yinski Plankton

The past couple of days have been real hot here and ive been panicking watching my tanks thermometer go up and up [smiley=shocked2.gif]

So far ive managed to keep the temp under control by floating bottles of ice in there but i would love a water chiller only the cheapest one i could find are around 3 to 5 hundred and im a poor student :(

At my work (camping store/repair shop) we have thermo-electric eskies and more importantly the spare parts for them....For those of you who dont know how a Thermo Electric Cooler (TEC) works theres basically two plates with semi-conductor between them, you run current through it and one side gets really hot the other really cold, you attatch big ole heat sinks to each side having the cold one inside the esky and the hot on the outside with a fan to cool it...

My plan was to have the cold heat sink in the water and the hot above the water line with a small computer fan to cool it. The whole thing should run off 12 volts.

I am aware that you cant have metal in a tank or it will corrode producing nasties that will kill fish. However if the heat sink was alluminium and all other corrosive metal parts sealed in silicone or sumthing would it be okay??

Has some thing like this been done before? Becuase right now i feel soo smart [smiley=smart.gif]

Any feed back or ideas would be much appreciated :)

2. Click Here!

3. m_lacom99

m_lacom99 Stylophora

i wouldnt put any metal in the tank Yinski sorry...