Did my cycle start?

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by andywyeth07, Apr 4, 2013.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. andywyeth07

    andywyeth07 Bristle Worm

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Delaware, Ohio
    Thanks for the help! I will go hunt down this "Prime" product after work and stop by our local coral farm and pick up some more live rock.
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. kreator

    kreator Flamingo Tongue

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Reynoldsburg, Ohio
    Take a water sample out to Todd, I assume when you said Coral Farm you are talking about Reef Systems. He will know exacly where you are in your cyle. He has great live rock too and you are close enough that you can get a small piece home and in your tank with no dieoff. Everything but Nitrates should be 0 if your cycle is complete. I'm in Reynoldsburg BTW looks like you are not far from me.
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2013
  4. andywyeth07

    andywyeth07 Bristle Worm

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Delaware, Ohio
    Alright, I will take some water out to them and get it tested. That's where I got my piece of LR that I have in the tank now. You can't beat their prices and really anything compared to the other LFS we have in the area.
     
  5. andywyeth07

    andywyeth07 Bristle Worm

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Delaware, Ohio
    Just got off work and tested my water:

    Ammonia - 0
    Nitrite - 0
    Nitrate - 0
    Ph - 8.1
    Phosphate - 0
    Calcium - 420
    Alkalinity - 6

    I shut my skimmer off and added microbacter 7 this morning. Even though its reading 0 now I'm still going to go get "prime" and another piece of LR. Just to be safe.
     
  6. oldfishkeeper

    oldfishkeeper Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    7,660
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    Others can chime in here but I'd say your cycle has completed. More live rock is always beneficial whether you've cycled or not......
     
  7. DSC reef

    DSC reef Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,814
    Location:
    Cocoa, Florida
    +10 The more live rock the better. I'd get a fish in there to put a load on your biological filter, your cycle is complete for the most part.
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. reefnJeff

    reefnJeff Pajama Cardinal

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,412
    Location:
    Saint Cloud, MN
    I think the best indicator that your cycle is over or near being over is when the Diatoms starting covering everything which my tank is doing right now and started a few days ago
     
  10. DSC reef

    DSC reef Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,814
    Location:
    Cocoa, Florida
    Very true. As soon as you get a fish and put a small load then the diatoms will follow. Good luck buddy.
     
  11. andywyeth07

    andywyeth07 Bristle Worm

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Delaware, Ohio
    I'm going to add about 5 more pounds of live rock tomorrow. Hopefully not only for bacteria but for the coraline algae.

    I've had Diatoms for awhile now. The sand bed was covered, along with my base rock. Once I added my CuC they have taken care of it.

    I've had a few green chromis in the tank for about 3 weeks now. I have a feeling the cycle is over and maybe I was just over feeding this last time I got the ammonia reading (i hope at least).

    All of you guys have been a tremendous help so far in this process and I thank you for that!
     
  12. andywyeth07

    andywyeth07 Bristle Worm

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Delaware, Ohio
    So it's been about 24 days since I first detected an ammonia level. It still hasn't went away and is still around .25. I've done 2 - 10% water changes since then. I've taken a water sample to my LFS and they tested it and said it was slightly less then .25.

    I've added a few more pounds of LR since my original post. I have prime and have only used it once.

    Should I be concerned? Is there anything else i need to do or am i doing everything I can?