Cycling with clowns?

Discussion in 'Tropical Fish' started by somethingfishy, Jul 26, 2004.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. somethingfishy

    somethingfishy Purple Spiny Lobster

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    Clinton Twp, Michigan
    Cycling with clowns?

    I read in TFH that a gentleman used clown fish to cycle a sea horse tank. Is this a good idea? I also heard you shouldn't use fish to cycle.

    Take it easy on me, I'm a cichlid guy, I'm new to saltwater. That is why I am asking first.

    Thank you for any help ahead of time.

    On a side note, what is the karma for? Is it a popularity contest?
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. Matt Rogers

    Matt Rogers Kingfish Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    13,466
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    I don't think it's a good idea. Clowns are too damn cute. It's not very humane either. Most don't even recommend damsels now. Many go the table shrimp route to get things going. If you search, there is quite a bit on cycling posted here. If you can't find anything, let me know.

    Karma is just for fun. (Although people forget sometimes.) If someone helps you out, you can give them karma if you want to thank them.
     
  4. somethingfishy

    somethingfishy Purple Spiny Lobster

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    Clinton Twp, Michigan
  5. Ice

    Ice Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Altona,Manitoba
    you probably already started cycling you tank, but a really good fish to cycle a saltwater tank are mollies. they are tough as nails and they are cheap

    I cycled my 180 gallon tank with 5 black mollies and once cycle i aclaimated them back to freshwater for my FW community tank. the are awesome little fish :)
     
  6. somethingfishy

    somethingfishy Purple Spiny Lobster

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    Clinton Twp, Michigan
    Thank you for your advise. My tank was already cycled when I started this post, It was a general future reference kind of question. The next tank I set up will be fishless cycled