CPR Bak-Pak Reef Ready Skimmer

Discussion in 'Protein Skimmers' started by califjewls, Mar 5, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. califjewls

califjewls Astrea Snail

I ordered this protein skimmer and will receive it tomorrow. This is my first protein skimmer and just wanted to know if anyone who may also use this skimmer has any additional information I may need to know about the set up, maintenance, fine tuning, etc?

Thank you in advance! :)

2. Click Here!

3. {Nano}Reefer

{Nano}Reefer Dragon Wrasse

lol sorry!! it was in the title! I have never owned that skimmer but have heard fairly good things about them, hope it works out for you!

Last edited: Mar 5, 2009
  4. Big Fish Brian

Big Fish Brian Astrea Snail

Hello, I think this skimmer is great! I have been using my dual bak pak for about 3 years now, and it has treated me well :)

As for tips, I recommend the bubble trap and skimmer boxes for the Bak Pak!!

They are both made by CPR and keep micro bubbles from getting into your tank, and the skimmer boxes let only the water from the very top of the tank into the skimmer,(this water has more dissolved solids)!! Very Helpful, I hope :)

5. califjewls

califjewls Astrea Snail

Ok so I received my skimmer, set it up (FYI had to get directions on their website since the box came with none) and it sure seems loud! Im hoping the noise goes down after its broken in. I am very happy with it though, after an hour it had already pulled out a bit of light brown foam.

Im wondering if I can add bio-bale to the reef ready bak pak? I was running a AquaClear 50 (200gph) but thought that maybe I could just use the bio-bale in the bak pak and get rid of the AC?

6. DarthClownfish

DarthClownfish Flamingo Tongue

If you are doing a reef, you should not use bio bale or any other bio filtration media at all, your live rock will handle all the bio filter load

7. Bogie

Bogie Snowflake Eel