Coral survive or die?

Discussion in 'Coral Health' started by colcol79, Jun 3, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. colcol79

colcol79 Feather Duster

Hi my tank had a problem with high phosphates and low ph, i have done a water change to try and help.

I added a finger coral 4 days ago, but it has never looked good it has never "stood up" it just looks lifeless.

I guess the low ph or high phosphate hasnt helped, the coral looks limp, and my candy cane coral has a little of its white skeleton showing.

I take it the chemistry of the water being slightly off is my problem,

Should i remove the coral or will it recover??

I dont want to be too hasty on taking it out im hoping the water change will help.

Again im new to this and am still learning so advice would be great. :confused:

2. Click Here!

3. pgoodsell

pgoodsell Horrid Stonefish

How low is the PH? Remember its not always how high or low but how stable it is. The phosphates are part of the problem too. Get some GFO running to help lower them. Whats your Cal, Alk, and Mag readings?

1 person likes this.
  4. colcol79

colcol79 Feather Duster

5. colcol79

colcol79 Feather Duster

The ph is 7.8 but it was the same yesterday at the same time.
    the phosphates are pretty high (over 10 mg/l)
    calcium is around 600 mg/l
    havent checked alk or mag readings.

excuse my ignorance but whats GFO?

6. MoJoe

MoJoe Dragon Wrasse

+1 on what PG said, stable PH is the best PH, even if it's a little under/over. 7.8 is fine, I run my reef prob around that PH and have no issues.

GFO = granular ferric oxide. It's media that lowers Phosphate in your tank. Like RowaPhos or Phosban, etc. You can run it in a reactor or in a media bag in your sump. I recommend the RowaPhos: http://www.marinedepot.com/ps_viewi..._campaign=mdcsegooglebase2&utm_content=RW1111

1 person likes this.
  7. pgoodsell