Complete beginner

Discussion in 'Say Hello!' started by Sami, Mar 5, 2016.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Sami

Sami Plankton

Hey guys,

I am looking forward to getting involved in the forums as I take the plunge into the world of reefing and marine tanks. At this point in time I do not have a tank, I had a freshwater tank back when I was at school (15-18 years old), during this time I also had a tank with two terrapins. When I moved to University the terrapins were given away and my fish moved to a friends tank. I had always wanted to get a marine tank, but always thought it was very expensive and only for 'experts'. As a kid I would go to my friends house and his dad had a 2500g tank covering the wall of his living room, I remember just sitting and watching the fish(Lionfish, Eels, Clownfish amongst others) for hours. However, I do remember he had several incidents where he would lose everything and in doing so lose 10's of thousands of pounds.

Of course, I will not be having a 2500g tank. I am still unsure as to how much the livestock (fish and corals) would cost for say a 75g to 180g tank? I understand from what I have read that larger volumes mean more stability (in theory) and as such are easier to maintain. When does this efficiency of scale come into place, in your opinion?

I am in a wheelchair so I am aware that will provide some additional challenges when dealing with the tank, but I do have someone to help me with some of the tasks if necessary and also know that my local fish shop provide a service to help maintain marine tanks (my friends father used them years ago).

Sorry for the blurb but I figure might as well make the most out of my first post! Feel free to ask me anything or offer any advice.

Thanks,

Sam

2. Click Here!

3. Todd_Sails

Todd_Sails Giant Squid