CJ's New 90Gal Setup

Discussion in 'Show Off Your Fish Tanks!' started by ComputerJohn, Jan 24, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. ComputerJohn

ComputerJohn Panda Puffer

Hello Everyone,

I'm still fairly new to saltwater & reef aquarium setups, but have been running a 29g for over a year now. I learned quite a bit with the 29 from friends & of course good old trial and error. Which can be costly at times, but hey what the heck!

Any input I would greatly appreciated. I'll post pics & a progress report as I'm going along.

Thanks,

CJ

2. Click Here!

3. Bogie

Bogie Snowflake Eel

I can read binary code in ASCII-8 and EBCDIC, but don't worry... I won't tell the mods what your avatar says.
    Welcome to 3Reef and best of luck on the new 90G setup.

4. ComputerJohn

1st pics posted

I have been looking for a larger tank for months. Looked at local pet stores, craigslist & even ebay with no good results. Since my girl & I decided to live together, it now was clear I needed to make a purchase ASAP of a larger tank. It was kinda pointless of moving my 29g & setup a tank I have pretty much maxed out.

My purchase was a 90Gal All Glass Aquarium $337.99 on sale from Petco. Believe it or not it was the cheapest & even included the MegaFlow kit that others wanted to charge $70.00 for it. I wasn't crazy about spending $494.99 on sale mind you for a damn stand, but it is oak. The stand is much taller than the pine versions & does not need the center brace that would be in my way when working with the sump area.

Any ideas on how large of a sump I should make? I was thinking of using a 29g or possible 40g tank & installing dividers?