Carnation, Ya i'm trying it...

Discussion in 'NPS Corals' started by tmv8888, May 9, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. tmv8888

tmv8888 Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

OK so here's the deal. I bought a carnation coral, which i have herd are extremly difficult to care for, but I've been keeping an established reef for about 2 years now. I have read plenty of articles concerning this coral, and all of them stated that they needed very low light, and quite a bit of flow. The issue is, my nano cube has very high lighting, and very low flow. It also doesn't have any caves or crevices, except in the back where you can't see the thing.

So here's the real question. My FOWLR tank has high flow, and low lighting, with plenty of caves and crevices, and coral friendly fish.The light is a cheap fluorescent, more commonly found on FW tanks, and it stays on about 6-8 hours a day. Would the FOWLR be a better place to stick the carnation? even though it would be the only coral in that tank?

2. Click Here!

3. sostoudt

sostoudt Giant Squid

depend on the parameters of the two tanks id say.

you have to set up some kind of phyto dosing system if you want that coral to live i think

4. tmv8888

Normally i target feed the important corals, and if not, there is always phyto in my tank for the taking. The parameters are nearly identical, but the nano has a nitrate content of about 5ppm. The FOWLR has none. i'm just nervous of putting a coral in a tank with just a cheap fluorescent.

5. Robman

Robman Great White Shark

Hey TMV I added an orange carnation a couple of weeks ago and it is doing great--Wide open and very happy, I run it under t-5 lights and reletively high on the reef. I think they gare talking about metal halides being too much. You will probably be fine. My flow is what I would call moderate where this coral is. Just try it and see what happens, it will let you know if it is happy.

6. chris adams