Can someone ID this? Updated!!!!

Discussion in 'Algae' started by sticksmith23, Jun 19, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. elweshomayor

    elweshomayor Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,962
    Location:
    Norcross, Atlanta Ga.
    1+ to this.. it looks like cyano to me as well.
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. sticksmith23

    sticksmith23 Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4,053
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Is this a better pic?

    [​IMG]

    Here is a FTS. The algae is in the two front corners of the tank.

    [​IMG]

    If it is cyano, what do I need to do?
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2011
  4. sticksmith23

    sticksmith23 Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4,053
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
  5. threephase37

    threephase37 Fire Worm

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    knoxville tn
    Are you running a gfo reactor? if not I would highly recomend it, theres a calculator on here and on brs website that will tell you how much to run in the rector. What are your phosphate levels? nitrates? Are you running a good quality skimmer?
     
  6. sticksmith23

    sticksmith23 Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4,053
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    I am not running a GFO reactor or protein skimmer unfortunately. I did just buy some Fluval® Clearmax Phosphate Remover and put it in my AquaClear hob filter and I bought a AquaClear Ammonia Remover Filter Insert. I cant test for phosphates right now. I will test for the big 3 in a little while and post the results. My 2 year daughter decided to hide my test result cards for my testing kit, so I have to find them, lol.

    I dont have a lot of extra money right now. Is there anything else I can do that might be low budget. I'm also in the middle of moving right now.
     
  7. sticksmith23

    sticksmith23 Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4,053
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    I started using Fluval® Clearmax Phosphate Remover (3.52-oz bag) in my AquaClear 50 HOB filter. I currently can't test for phosphates, so how often should I change this media out?

    My tank has been set up since Feburary with livestock in it for about 1.5 to 2 months now.
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. sticksmith23

    sticksmith23 Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4,053
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Cyano

    I believe this is still cyano? It is really bad on this one rock and a little on my sand bed. I've tried manually removing it, but then it is back just as strong the next day. I run GAC in one of my HOB's, and that has helped, but my phosphates are still high. :confused:

    [​IMG]

    I can't seem to get rid of it. I don't have a CuC currently. I also noticed that I have a lot of bubble algae on one certain rock with zoas on it. Will an emerald crab take care of this?

    Here are my prams as of two nights ago:

    SG: 1.025
    PH: 8.4
    ALK: around 2.1 ppm
    Nitrate: 0 ppm
    Ammonia: 0 ppm
    Nitite: 0 ppm
    Phosphate: 8 ppm

    I know my phosphates are high. I'm going to test the RO water that I've using directly to see if that is where the phosphates are coming from. Any other ideas are greatly appreciated.
     
  10. sticksmith23

    sticksmith23 Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4,053
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
  11. civiccars2003

    civiccars2003 Great Blue Whale

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,827
    Location:
    Akron Ohio
    I believe its cyano. There are plenty on threads on here about it and how to fix it. In the mean time I can try to find one.


    ---
    I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=40.980351,-81.521107
     
  12. civiccars2003

    civiccars2003 Great Blue Whale

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,827
    Location:
    Akron Ohio