can i put chaeto algae in display tank ?

Discussion in 'Algae' started by minajaguar, Sep 26, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. Corailline

    Corailline Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    19,652
    Location:
    It is a dry heat, yeah right !
    Moved to ------ Algae.
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. dellyjoe

    dellyjoe Teardrop Maxima Clam

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    842
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Is there anyway you could make a sump. Like hang on the back tip of sump ? Is tha out of the question ?
     
  4. Slassco

    Slassco Flamingo Tongue

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Charlotte MC
    I grow cheato in my sump with a CFL bulb. It does a good job filtering but does not replace you water changes. The cheato grows so fast 2 times a month a softball size batch goes in the display tank. My vlamingi and sohal eat it up.
     
  5. NanaReefer

    NanaReefer Fu Manchu Lion Fish

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,911
    Look to the far right, towards the back. That used to be a baseball size. It grows very well in my DT. Under 4x24w t5ho. I tumble it around ever so often. If any comes loose I just net it out. No biggy :) Pods love it in there especially :)

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Todd_Sails

    Todd_Sails Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,732
    Location:
    A Texan in S.E. Wisconsin
    OR,

    you can figure out where the Nitrates are coming from, and eliminate the cause!!

    Like a Cannister, filter, etc.?
     
  7. Todd_Sails

    Todd_Sails Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,732
    Location:
    A Texan in S.E. Wisconsin
    NIce DT pic btw ;-)