Can I feed Goldfish food to my Clownfish?

Discussion in 'Fish Food' started by adamSpline, Aug 5, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. adamSpline

adamSpline Plankton

Yes, I am a newbie. I have a 10 gallon tank that is about 4 weeks old. The parameters were decent, so I put a clownfish in last week (false perc).

I purchased some Tetra Marine flakes, but he refuses to eat them. At first I thought he was just scared and on some type of hunger strike. But, then I noticed that he occasionally would go up to the flake, take a nibble, spit it out, and swim away. After 5 days of not eating, I was getting a little concerned (I tried to go to the LFS to pick up a different type of food, but the LFS was closed by the time I got off of work). Also, I am getting concerned that the uneaten food will spoil the tank.

So, I decided to put in one small Tetra Goldfish granule. The clown ate it right up, no hesitation. (Thus, the fish is not scared to eat, he just does not like the flakes). I compared the ingredients of both the Tetra Marine and the Tetra Goldfish granules, and they had many common ingredients. So, I put in a few more to try to keep the clown’s nourishment up.

So my questions are:

[1] can I feed the clown a few Goldfish granules until I have time (and money) to go get a different type of Marine fish food? Or, is it better to keep on trying to feed the Tetra Marine flakes? I know this is not a permanent solution, but I am just asking if this will be ok for a few days.

[2] Knowing that the clown seems to like the texture/taste of the Tetra Goldfish Granules, is there an appropriate Marine food that you could recommend?

Thanks,

-Adam

2. Click Here!

3. sostoudt

sostoudt Giant Squid

i dont think feeding him that temporarily will do any harm

4. Reeron

Reeron Blue Ringed Angel

5. Jakerupe

Jakerupe Skunk Shrimp