Biopellet help

Discussion in 'Filters, Pumps, etc..' started by PghSteeler, Jan 12, 2015.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. PghSteeler

PghSteeler Tassled File Fish

Need a little help here as I am thinking of divign into the biopellet world. I have never used any carbon dosing method before. For the new setup I am going to run a skimmer, liverock, 3inch sandbed, and carbon in a reactor. That is all that is set in stone for now. I have used phosguard in the past and even a short period with GFO and do not really want either on the new build. IME GFO caused a cyano outbreak and from reading it could be because the red cyano can use iron instead of phosphates for growth unlike true algae. Phosguard is aluminum based and I really dont want aluminum or iron building up in my tank over longe time use.

So biopellets it may be. Anyone have good links for solid information on them?

Also setting up a tank with dry rock should I wait to add the biopellets to let bacteria colonzie the rock first or should I run the pellets from start-up?

What type of pellet is best and why?

What type of reactor is best and why? I see recirculatign reactors cost more, would placign a gate valve on the output as well be an easy mod that makes any reactor basically a recirculating reactor?

Also there should be no problem running the intake off of the return pump line like I will for the carbon right? Just another T in the line with a valve for flow control.

When plumbing, the output from the reactor jsut goes into the equipment section with the skimmer right?

2. Click Here!

3. oldfishkeeper

oldfishkeeper Giant Squid