arrgh laterite cloud!!! what a mess..

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Tanks' started by Ellie, May 23, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Ellie

Ellie Plankton

Hey guys

I finally got my 180g going last thursday...rinsed the gravel till my hands were raw, rinsed the laterite and added it to the bottom third of the gravel, then went and added the water. The mess is terrible, the water is so cloudy I can barely see a thing. Guess I didnt rinse the laterite enough hey?

I replaced the sponge in my internal filter with filter wool and added seachem clarity (which clouded the water even more - so apparently its working). I am also running a canister filter to try to improve the water. Should I bother changing the water or just let the clarity and filters do the work? I've never used laterite before and after this, I dont think I will again!! what a pain...

2. Click Here!

3. techno2

techno2 Stylophora

I just recently went thought the same thing.
    If the water is curculating through some sort of filter , it will clear.

Put a cover over the tank and forget about it for 2 days then go back to it.

\Cheers

4. sssnake

sssnake Montipora Digitata

+1 on that!

Let the canister filter do its thing for a while. Your water will be crystal clear soon enough.

For future reference put a plate on the sand and slowly pour the water into the plate. This should keep the sand from being disturbed to a minimum.

5. Ellie

Ellie Plankton

thanks for the advice, I'll try my best to be patient.. although every time I walk past the tank I have to stop myself from tampering with things to try and fix it :)

I used a plate when filling the tank, but I guess I was a bit too rough and didn't pour the water very carefully.

In future, should I wash laterite until it is completely clean? Is that possible or will there always be some sediment?