Aquatic Life T5

Discussion in 'T5 Aquarium Lighting' started by Rhymlz, Mar 1, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Rhymlz

Rhymlz Astrea Snail

Anyone know how good the Aquatic Life T5 fixtures are?

2. Click Here!

3. Dr.Fragenstein

Dr.Fragenstein Panda Puffer

They are relatively new on the market and have not heard of many people using them. They do have some nice and ingenuitive products out right now. Unfortunately I have no first hand experience and specs on paper are never as good as touching something and using it yourself!!

Looks like you might need to be the guinea pig on this one!!

Happy lighting!

4. kayak_guy

kayak_guy Plankton

im thinking of getting their T5 fixture for my 55g

5. marlinman

marlinman Zoanthid

Check with the Grim Reefer at Reef Central. He is an authority on T5's. I bought 8 bulbs that he recommended and I'm happy. As long as you've got individual reflectors you can't go far from wrong. Some manufacturers or perveyors give you the opportunity to recieve different kelvins with the fixture. This is where you might save some money. There are 4 pictures below. The first pair has the generic factory set up with 4 420mn blue actinics and 4 10K daylights and the second has the combo the Grim Reefer recommended:
    From front to rear
    ATI Blue Plus 450mn
    GE 6500K daylight
    UVL 75/25 14K
    ATI Blue Plus
    UVL Aquasun 10K pink
    ATI Blue Plus
    ATI Aquablue 12K
    ATI Blue Plus
    This spectrum adds a lot more blue. Just an idea. See for yourself. It's a matter of taste but when you don't know you'll just have to try by trial and error. I hope this helped.
    I'm selling the factory bulbs that I used for one month for $5 each if your interested.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Mar 3, 2009
  6. DarthClownfish

DarthClownfish Flamingo Tongue

I have an Aquatic Life T5 fixture en route to me right now. I will let y'all know how it is

7. DarthClownfish