Aquascape newbie needs help with first tank.

Discussion in 'Live Rock' started by twowordz, Sep 20, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. twowordz

twowordz Astrea Snail

Hello,

So it is time to think about the aquascape for my 75 gallons tank.

I started playing around with my rocks and I came up with that:
    [​IMG]

I'm not saying it's nice or ugly, I really don't know what to do.

I have three kind of rocks. Theres the smooth ones sort of dead corals but heavy like the one on the bottom left:
    [​IMG]

Then there's the spongy looking ones that have nice texture like the one on the bottom right:
    [​IMG]

And theres the really branchy ones on to of my arrangement.

Now I really dont know if it's the best way to go about this but I've put the branchy ones on top because they are the most interesting. At the same time, I feel like it will be hard to grow corals on that kind of funky shape.

I bought those rocks part of a kit from someone quitting the hobby. There is about 145 lbs (what he said). The pile is about 14 inches high and my tank is 48x18x20.

Maybe I have it all wrong so please just be straight and criticize, I won't be hurt. ;) Also, if you think I should change some rocks let me know.

Thanks

1 person likes this.
  2. Click Here!

3. divott

divott Giant Squid

personally, i like the look of that alot. as far as the knobby top , mostly it will allow you to keep corals in place a bit easier. places for them to fit into and such. and you have enough flatter areas for something that would come on a larger piece of LR. excellent start IMO twowordz

4. yamaharider73

yamaharider73 Kole Tang

Looks pretty good to me. The real question is do you like it? As long as your happy with it that is all that matters. :)

5. sostoudt

sostoudt Giant Squid