Another TOTAL NEWBIE post.. set up questions.

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by Katie Dice, Feb 6, 2016.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Katie Dice

Katie Dice Plankton

Hi everyone, my name is Katie and I am completely new to marine aquariums (although my father has been in the hobby for years). I am just starting to gather things for a reef tank set up. I will be running a 46 gal bowfront with a 20 gal eshopps rs100 sump and overflow box, and reef octopus rw110 skimmer. This is all I've got so far. I am not setting up tank for a few months until after we move, but I am looking to purchase everything I need before the move.

Here is where all my questions come into play that I could really use advice for. First, the sump I bought did not come with a return pump. I started researching return pumps today and found myself researching all day and still no closer to figuring out which return pump I should purchase. Many people say the higher the better (5-10x), then some say lower (3-5x).. I am absolutely clueless. Then I learned about the DC return pumps that you can adjust the speeds and that peaked my interest, but again, I am lost on what will be best for the tank. Return pump to tank will be about a 5' height.

Second, lights... I plan on just having a few clowns, lps's and soft corals. Would I be okay to run a Odyessa T5 High Output with timer?

Lastly (doubtful lol), what am I missing? Any other necessities? Tank, stand, sump, overflow box, sump, return pump, lights, skimmer..... I know I am forgetting something... powerhead maybe?

Thank you in advance for any help that you guys can give me, I swear I pick up things fast and I'm SO ANXIOUS to jump into the hobby!

2. Click Here!

3. Swisswiss

Swisswiss Caribbean Reef Squid

the return pump should match your overflow capablity, its better to have a SLIGHTLY stronger pump and reduce its return flow with a ball valve on the return line....