Anemones

Discussion in 'Inverts' started by cody3819, Dec 22, 2015.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. cody3819

cody3819 Bubble Tip Anemone

So I just bought a green BTA, it really doesn't look upset or mad. I can't see the mouth to know if it's tight or loose. But the foot looked very good when I bought it. When it was in the bag I seen the mouth once, it looked slightly open but not sagging or gapping open. I'm very new to anemones so I just want to know how to know it one is happy or not? It is still inflated, when I first put it in my peppermint shrimp gave it a very hard time, so I moved the shrimp into my back sump. I fed it it took the food and looks as if it ate some of the shrimp, but this morning I noticed a small pice of the shrimp being eaten by my clean up crew. It hasn't moved yet and never fully opened. Is it happy or not? Thanks in advance.

2. Click Here!

3. DSC reef

DSC reef Giant Squid

How old is your tank again cody? Normally you don't want to add a nem until the tank is mature and VERY stable. I'd stop feeding it for now and let it do what it wants without any intervention. Anemones will digest what they can and spit out the rest. It's best to remove any uneaten food, especially in a tank that small since things can get out of whack quickly. Another thing to think about is the risk of keeping a nem with surrounding corals in a small tank since it can decimate the corals in its path. For now just leave it be.

4. cody3819