algae scrubber vs wet/dry

Discussion in 'Filters, Pumps, etc..' started by reef_guru, Jan 14, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. JasonSquared

    JasonSquared Spaghetti Worm

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    My system which is a basic Berlin system Berlin Method - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia is as follows:

    Refugium with LR Chaeto and TONS of Kenya Tree, protein skimmer, thats it... All the bacteria needed are in the sand bed (about 3" deep), and the liverock. Oh and I do filter the effluent through a filter sock. Never needed more, except when I was using some LR ordered through the net, THAT I suspect was a bottomless source of nitrates IME... Most people around here don't use wet dry filters. I would like to add a GFO reactor sometime, but my current situation won't allow it (I'm broke).
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. Matt Rogers

    Matt Rogers Kingfish Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    13,466
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    With regards to algae turf scrubbers, it should be mentioned that the algae is periodically harvested in stages - removing the nutrients from the system.
     
  4. JasonSquared

    JasonSquared Spaghetti Worm

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Thats a VERY important point Matt. The Nitrates get locked up in the algae mat, and will grow so thick that the bottom layers will die off releasing back the NO3. I have to harvest mine every other day, although I have been holding off to get some to some people... I'm going to have to start chucking it again!
     
  5. Matt Rogers

    Matt Rogers Kingfish Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    13,466
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    Thanks. Do you have a pic of your somewhere we can see Jason?
     
  6. JasonSquared

    JasonSquared Spaghetti Worm

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    I have one from a few months after it started... My father in law has my camera since Christmas when I left it at his house!! :-(

    I can't seem to figure out how to attach it unless it's really small -like 1/10 the size that it is...
     
  7. Matt Rogers

    Matt Rogers Kingfish Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    13,466
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
  8. Click Here!

  9. JasonSquared

    JasonSquared Spaghetti Worm

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Lets see if this works.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. JasonSquared

    JasonSquared Spaghetti Worm

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Its still tiny... But that is the first month for that tank. I'm sure you're looking to see if my tank suck or not to see if I know what i am doing. And as soon as I can pout a more recent pin up I will. This has been running for around 9 months now, and my growth has been great so far. Had a few setbacks (like overdosing Kalk) but overall I have been able to cut frags fairly often to keep this going and start my new setup which will hopefully be up next month!

    The Pocillopara colony was from a previous tank, and all the other frags were new, except the mushrooms, and I kept a paly too.
     
  11. Matt Rogers

    Matt Rogers Kingfish Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    13,466
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    Nice pic!
    I was talking about the scrubber though... gotta pic of that?
     
  12. JasonSquared

    JasonSquared Spaghetti Worm

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    No, I don't use a scrubber, just a refugium. But the principal is the same, scrubbers supposedly work even better though. At least thats what I have heard.