Algae Bloom

Discussion in 'Algae' started by ryugraphix, Aug 23, 2005.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. ryugraphix

    ryugraphix Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    26 Gal. Fluval 304, Formosa DX,
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. kb.bear

    kb.bear Peppermint Shrimp

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    Riverside, RI
    You could probably use another 12 or so lbs of live rock. most of the people on 3reef like to have at least 1-2lb of rock for every gal of water.
    Your rock is your primary biological filter but I wouldn't do anything untill your bloom is over
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2005
    1 person likes this.
  4. ryugraphix

    ryugraphix Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    thanks. I'm definately getting more live rock, but at $7.50 a lb (here in town) it's a bit much. I've found it online ranging from $4 to $5.50 a lb... so I think I'll be going that rout for the rest.
     
  5. ryugraphix

    ryugraphix Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Just did a test and NH's = 0, NO2 = 0, pH = 8. It's definately very brown in there now too ;)
     
  6. allaboutfish37

    allaboutfish37 Feather Duster

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    oakley, CA,California
    just take your time go slow I think your clown will be alright :thumbs_up :tongue4:
     
  7. ryugraphix

    ryugraphix Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Well, as of this morning, the algae has all but cleared up. Thanks for the help everyone.
    SHould I do my first water change now?
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. kb.bear

    kb.bear Peppermint Shrimp

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    414
    Location:
    Riverside, RI