Algae attack and Fish are now dying

Discussion in 'Algae' started by iloveseaturtles, Aug 27, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. iloveseaturtles

iloveseaturtles Astrea Snail

We have an urgent situation now. I am new to salt water aquariums and an algae problem has gotten way out of hand fairly quickly. An now I have lost a shrimp and a yellow tang in less than 30 hours.

I have tested the water with the following results:
    Ammonia = 0
    Nitrites <0.3
    KH = 6
    PH = 7.5/6

I think there is a chance that it is possible that the algae is taking O2 out of the water and that is suffocating the fish. Don't know.

What I have done so far is:

1. clean the skimmer (was clean last week but now was clogged with algae)
    2. clean the BRS (carbon and GFO)
    3. put a temporary air pump and bubble stone in to add O2.
    4. a 20% water change

I think my problem is that we have been topping off with RO water (but it is not DI). And we may have been overfeeding a bit (half a cube of frozen shrimp every 3 days and some tropical flakes daily). Lights are on 8 hours per day on a timer.

The tank was up and running for a year and a half and we moved it (took everything out and cleaned the tank and put it all back including almost every drop of water) about a month and a half ago.

My questions:

1. What can I do to save the rest of my fish? Urgent steps I need to take but haven't? I have an empty tank, start a temporary for the fish??
    2. How do I keep this from happening again? How do I kill off all this algae? What type is this?

Thank you all for your help!

Attached Files:

2. Click Here!

3. Camkha1234

Camkha1234 Great Blue Whale

You should definitely bring up your pH. I don't know if that's what's killing your livestock, though :-/ What size tank do you have?

4. iloveseaturtles

iloveseaturtles Astrea Snail

5. Camkha1234