A red algae problem during the day

Discussion in 'Algae' started by AaronEdmondson, Jul 30, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. AaronEdmondson

AaronEdmondson Plankton

Hi guys, I read up on some other people red algae problems, sounds like its common to have a red algae outbreak that happens during the day then goes dorment at night.

People said its a Cyano outbreak.

I am new to tanks and all the lingo and stuff so if you could answer my question like you were talking to a idiot and explain exactely what to buy and how to fix it, it would help me out the most ;D

Ok I got a 30 gallon saltwater tank thats 4 months old.
    I have the Live rocks that petco sells, they are a "brick red" color.
    I got the Ocean floor white sand.
    I have 4 hermit crabs, 3 snails, a clown fish, a blennie, striped wrasse. and I just recently bought a cool anemone (white with purple tips) and a purple coral that has green grass stuff that comes out in the day.

ok and equipment is I got the 30 gallon filter that hangs on top of tank.
    I bought a bio cube protein skimmer.
    I just bought a Maxi-jet 600 for water circulation.
    and I have a real nice light on top made for Reefs. sits up about 2 inches off tank. and has a Moon light for night time.

So I just went to Petco and had them test my water, and they said it was perfect.

I have been trying to treat my tank with Chemiclean, and its not working. I treat it over and over just like instructions tell me to do and still no help. I just did a 50% water change and I used the water conditioner on all the water hoping that would help. ( I hear in saltwater you dont normally have to condition the water) but I did it anyway to give it the best water.

Anyway the outbreak continues and is Real ugly.

If someone could give me a little step by step, I will do what ever you say and keep posting my current news on hear daily til the problem is cured.