10 Gallon tank

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by Kevin88, Aug 16, 2013.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Kevin88

Kevin88 Astrea Snail

I have a 10 gallon tank with nothing but a small filter. I was wondering what I would need to get a saltwater tank going.

I am new to the hobby. With that being said, English please. :cheesy:

2. Click Here!

3. Marshall O

Marshall O Giant Squid

Well, bare minimum would be a heater, substrate (sand), 10 lbs of live rock or so, some form of lighting, and maybe a small powerhead. For supplies, obviously salt, high quality hydrometer or refractometer, test kits (ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, and pH at a minimum), top-off water (RO/DI water should be used, including the initial tank fill), and a net.

But just know smaller tanks are much more challenging to keep than a large one. You will need to top the tank off almost daily with fresh RO/DI water to keep the salinity the same. It will be a challenge to maintain temperature as well.

What are you looking to keep in the tank?

4. oldfishkeeper

oldfishkeeper Giant Squid

+1^^ Marshall pretty much summed it up.

5. Kevin88

Kevin88 Astrea Snail

Thanks for the reply.

I'm not really sure exactly what I want, but I definitely want a royal gramma. Other than that, I might have a couple of ocellaris' and maybe a yellow goby. (assuming they can all go together)

Other than fish, I'll have a few hermit crabs, some mushrooms, and maybe a rose urchin.

My sister's husband has a 14 gallon reef tank and a 135 gallon fish tank, and he said he'd help me get mine started.

6. Marshall O

Marshall O Giant Squid

Well unfortunately, a 10 gallon is really only appropriate for 1-2 smaller fish. To house the fish you are asking about you will need a tank closer to the 30 gallon size. Maybe look into an all-in-one tank, such as a JBJ 28 or Bio-cube 29. This would be an easier tank to start off with IMO.

7. ClippersTown