1 AI Sol or 2 Nanos for 65g?

Discussion in 'LED Aquarium Lighting' started by monroe14, Oct 10, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. monroe14

monroe14 Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

Wow, first post to the forum, too bad it doesn't show how much time I've spent on here looking around without posting :)

Anyways, I'm new to saltwater and starting up a new 65g tank (36x18x24) and I have myself pretty convinced about going with an AI LED. I'm just looking for some opinions deciding if one Sol mounted parallel would give me the spread I need for the whole 36" ? I know the specs say it will cover 30 but I'm wondering if I mount it higher and boost the intensity a little (since most people seem to run them on a lower %) if that will cover the extra 6 inches. I also don't know if their specs are going off of a parallel mount or the double rail mount. Seems silly to get a whole extra unit for 6 inches..

My other option is to get 2 nanos, which cover 18 each, giving me my 36.. And if I go that route, is there any known difference performance-wise between the Sol and the Nano?

Thanks in advance for any and all advice !

2. Click Here!

3. FaceOfDeceit

FaceOfDeceit Hockey Beard

The nano is about 60% as powerful as the AI Sol. If it were me, I'd get 2 AI Sol units. I had 1 over a 40 gallon and needed another for SPS.

4. insanespain

insanespain Ocellaris Clown

5. m2434

m2434 Giant Squid

I agree, based on the PAR numbers from the contour plot in this article, you would need two SOLs to get decent coverage for SPS.

Feature Article: LED Lighting Tests: Aquaillumination, Blue Moon, Eco-Lamp KR-91, Ecoxotic Panorama — Advanced Aquarist's Online Magazine