Survey on fish mortality

Discussion in 'Tropical Fish' started by Agathos, Feb 14, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Agathos

Agathos Plankton

Hi,

As a newbie I am interested in mortality differences between different fish species that we keep in our tanks. I've heard that clownfishes may live for a long time and that cardinals typically live much shorter. The sturdiness of different species also differ. Unfortunately I can't find any empirical data on these things, so I set out to design a survey that will hopefully help to answer some of these questions.

What I basically want you to do is to tell me how long your deceased fish lived in your tank after introduction before dying. Why they died and how old they were when you got them doesn't matter. Just for how long they lived after being introduced in your tank. With this data I will make graphs that show relative differences in mortality distribution between different fish species. From such curves we might gleam information on the maximal years the different species may live in our tanks after introduction, and hopefully some information on their relative sturdiness/sensitivity. For this survey to be valuable it is important that many people participate -- so please take the time. If you have experiences with more than one specimen of a specific species, it is possible to take the survey multiple times.

I will post results from the study here when they are ready. Hopefully this will provide us with some interesting data on fish longevity.

Please take the survey here: Longevity of marine ornamental fish in captivity

1 person likes this.
  2. Click Here!

3. Sadie

Sadie Coral Banded Shrimp