Keeping Mandarins in Nano's 2

Discussion in 'Tropical Fish' started by NanaReefer, May 18, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NanaReefer

NanaReefer Fu Manchu Lion Fish

This thread is solely about my personal experience with keeping a Mandarin in a nano tank. I am not an expert! Most everything I've learned comes from reading and the experiences of many who have kept this fish before me. I've taken what I've learned and am using it to the best of my own ability. It is not about should or should not! I will share honestly and openly. I ask that if you object to what I am doing, please do not hijack this thread stating your reasons. Please feel free to create a new thread to do that.

Welcome to Dilly's world! He is an ORA Target Mandarin. Acquired on Tuesday, April 24, 2012. He resides in my 1+ year old 26g bow front. Filtered with a HOB 3.3g CPR Aquafuge. Where I culture his supply of pods.
    Dilly was captive bread and raised on New Life Spectrum .05 pellets, Nutramar Ova and Hikari frozen blood worms. All of which he still takes today. Especially the blood worms, he love those!

I target feed him 2-3x daily at the feeding station of his choice. Yes, he's chosen his own special place to be fed by me :) Seems to be where he's most comfortable. He comes to this same spot like clock work and I take this as an indication that he's wanting to eat. He's trained me very well~lol.
    His other favorite place to hang out is the back of the tank. Where it's darker and the back is always crawling with amphipods, behind the LR. Also in the back corners is where I've placed a ball of cheato for pods. Day or night you can see the cheato teaming with copepods and amphipods.