Adding a 2nd Yellow Watchman Goby (SUCCESS)

Discussion in 'Tropical Fish' started by Indiana Boy, Feb 3, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Indiana Boy

Indiana Boy Coral Banded Shrimp

Hello Everyone!
    I have had a YWG in my aquarium for several months. I would really like to add a second one in the hopes that they would pair up. Is this possible in my 55 gallon??? what are the chances of them pairing up? what are the chances that they will kill each other?
    Is there anyone who has done this?/ (had a YWG and then added a 2nd at a later date with success??)
    i realize there would/could be a possible territory issue...

Any opinions/feedback would be most appreciated.

2. Click Here!

3. peasofme

peasofme Astrea Snail

if one dies, u still have another

4. kstafford003

kstafford003 Feather Star

I have no personal experience with this but I believe you could have 2 in a 55 gal if you have lots of hiding places for them. Chances pairing up I would give it 25% kill each other 25%. IMO someone correct me if I'm wrong.

5. ReefBruh

ReefBruh Giant Squid

Unless you get one of the opposite sex but you dont know if you have a male or female. Most likely you have a male.

6. Indiana Boy

Thank you all, i will study this more before i make the decision. thank you all for your input.
    @peasofme-- Thank you, my goal however would be to keep my aquarium fairly calm and casualty free.

@ reefbruh--- thank you for your comment. You had mentioned that i probably have a male. Why is this? are male YWG's more common? i have had little luck with searches on the sexing of cyrptocentrus cinctus or keeping them in pairs. any input or resources would be most helpful.

This is where all of this (may) be going. i have been researching Alpheid shrimps and am aware that a single goby can have multiple shrimps (for example, one YWG ((cyrptocentrus cinctus)) with a pair of snapping shrimp.)