Upgrade to 120Gs: Quiet is Key

Discussion in 'Show Off Your Fish Tanks!' started by magnetar68, Jan 27, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. magnetar68

magnetar68 Astrea Snail

I am new to 3reef, but wanted to document my 120 gallon upgrade. I currently have an RSM 130D (see here). This is a 34 gallon all-in-one, but I added an overflow with DIY sump, ATO, DA Controller, and a refugium. After having this setup for a year, I learned a lot but I would like a bigger tank. There are a few reasons for this:

• Quiet. Very Quiet. I know this is hard with a reef tank, but my design is going to great lengths to make it as quiet as practical.
    • Higher watt lighting: I currently have 110W of power compact lighting, but I would like to keep some animals with greater PAR needs.
    • More volume: more/bigger fish and enough live rock to keep a healthy mandarin.
    • Get everything inside the stand. I currently have the chiller and top off water outside the tank and I don't like the clutter.

The primary reason, however, is that I like designing and implementing tanks :) I probably enjoy building them as much as I enjoy admiring them.

I don't quite have a stocking plan, but I figure with 120 gallons and a decent amount of PAR, I should have lots of options. I had a tank plan for my last tank and the reality is that LFS availability drove my plan more than my initial stocking list.

Based on available space in my living room, here is my current thinking (I explain some of the reasoning in more detail below):

• 48"x24"x24 Trimless/Rimless style tank
    • Coast-to-Coast External Overflow (5% drain drops straight into sump)
    • Toothless design (I will use egg-crate above the water line as described below)
    • DIY or off-the-shelf LED lighting
    • Refugium with DSB
    • Quiet Skimmer
    • Digital Aquatics Controller w/ATO
    • Vortech MP60
    • Other reactor and dosing paraphernalia

Quiet