150 gal corner build *Long overdue update*

Discussion in 'Show Off Your Fish Tanks!' started by HeiHei29er, Feb 20, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. HeiHei29er

HeiHei29er Gigas Clam

I'm new to saltwater so any and all critiques are welcome and appreciated.

I have a 150 gallon corner pentagon (back corner overflow) that I'm converting from FW to SW.

Here's the equipment list.

40 gal breeder refugium/sump
    Marineland 300 skimmer
    Tunze Silence return (~150 gph after head losses)
    4x 1,600 gph JBJ Oceanstream PH with 2x dual wavemakers
    Lights (from front to back)
    -54W Actinic+ (T5HO)
    -54W Aquablue+ (T5HO)
    -39W Aquablue+ (T5HO)
    -36" TrueLumen Pro Actinic (LED)
    -39W Aquablue+ (T5HO)
    -24W Actinic+ (T5HO)
    -24W Aquablue+ (T5HO)
    Hofer Gurgle Buster
    100 pounds CaribSeas dry rock
    80 pounds Special Grade sand bed in DT (~1.5")
    60 pounds sugar sand in refugium (4" DSB)

I'm looking at mostly soft and LPS corals, but would like to have a Bird's Nest or a plating Monti also if I can keep things alive. [​IMG]

I'm looking at ways to seed coralline in the dry rock. Has anyone had any success with the Indo-Pacific Sea Farms coralline booster? Not sure what, if any, pests would come in on it.

: : : : Indo-Pacific Sea Farms : : : :

Is it best to wait for the cycle to finish before seeding with coralline?

The cycle started yesterday. Hopefully some corals by April. [​IMG]

The light is the 36" actinic LED strip. Also, the tank shot is with just the LED going. Not sure why my camera adds the red tint to the photo. :confused: Hopefully the cloudiness will clear in the next few days.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Oct 5, 2013
  2. Click Here!

3. 55gfowlr

55gfowlr Zoanthid