Stuff growing on my sand

Discussion in 'Sand' started by tjacobs713, Nov 28, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. tjacobs713

tjacobs713 Plankton

I have some stuff growing on my sand...

In one corner of my tank there is some pink stuff growing on my sand. starded in the sand now its on top and is clear on the other side of the tank now too.

also in the middle of my tank i noticed so black furry-like stuff growinf on my sand. and it was growing in diameter. when i went to remove it because i didnt think it was attractive it actually created a layer or a barrier. it peeled right up. i tried to remove it all. there is more growing in more places.

i will try to get some pics up here in a moment...any thoughts...im thinking the black stuff might be a type of sponge but its ugly and the pink stuff could be algea but im still new to all this.

if i try to remove some of this stuff and put new sand on top do you think it would continue to grow.

thanks..and all my stuff is still testing out good

2. Click Here!

3. tjacobs713

tjacobs713 Plankton

here are the pics the first one is of the pink stuff where it first started growing... the second is out emperor angel just to show (we just got him).... third pic is both the pink and black stuff clear on other side of tank

camera didnt upload other pics gotta find them

Attached Files:

4. Dingo

Dingo Giant Squid

do you have crushed coral or sand bottom? looks like it might be cyanobacteria

5. pgreef

pgreef Fire Goby

Can't tell from the pictures but the description sounds like cyanobacteria. Reduce your feedings and increase the flow in your tank with additional powerheads. If you aren't doing so already use RO/DI water for top offs and water changes.

6. tjacobs713

tjacobs713 Plankton

we have a sand....not the super fine sand it had small pieces of crushed shell or rock/coral or whatever in it too. we bought live sand when we set up our tank.