55g refugium flow rate?

Discussion in 'Refugium' started by diggardens, Dec 28, 2006.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. diggardens

diggardens Feather Duster

I am setting up a 55g refugium and would like to know how to figure a flow rate for it. A tee feeds from the tank overflow to the refug and then a pump sends it to the main sump and then to the tank. I know I need good contact time in the refug but not sure how fast or slow. Math is not my forte.:confused:

2. Click Here!

3. Otty

Otty Giant Squid

I have heard both 5 to 10 and 10 to 15 time the water volume so I went right inbetween and set my 55 up for around 500 gph. May be to fast but I guess time will tell.

1 person likes this.
  4. diggardens

Otty, is your main tank or refug 55g? My refuge is 55g and external from sump. It just seems 500gph on the refuge is a bit much. Hey, what do I know, this is my firsy attempt. I'm a NEWBIE

Thank you

5. m_lacom99

m_lacom99 Stylophora

I would shoot for around 200 - 300 GPH and you could go slower, that way the fuge will have time to do its job and filter out your water... Water going through a fuge to fast is basically not getting filtered so the fuge becomes useless. Just my 2 cents.

Marc.

1 person likes this.
  6. diggardens

The main tank is a 90g. I plan on live rock and a mix of plants in the refug. I know me, I will end up having a large bio load in the main tank. Plus I hope to have a larger main tank someday.

What happened to the last reply? Where did it go ? It was from Tangster.

7. Tangster

Tangster 3reef Sponsor

I pulled it .. I'd ask what do you intend this fuge to do for your main tank ? in the last several yrs I see so many just over doing a very simple and efficient concept.. A 55 gal is way way to large for a refugium on a 90 gal display tank ..