starting up marine tank

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by TC, Dec 31, 2003.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. TC

TC Plankton

Hi to everyone. This is my first time posting. It is a great site to look for info. First of all, I don't have a marine tank yet. Looking to set up one. I collected a few used equipment but still can't make up my mind that I am ready to mix some salt water. Not sure if anyone have that feeling before they startup. Here is what I got. Need advice on whether I am ready yet or not. Also, choice of tank size is my issue. Suggest please. By the way, I have spent last month to hanging around marine fist shop to hunt for used parts.
    - a 75 gal tank with overflow drilled (48Lx0Hx12W)
    - a seaclone 100 skimmer (seems to work)
    - a marine land 400 biowheel
    - a prism skimmer
    - a 802, 201 and 401 pump
    - a bucket of IO salt (2/3 full)
    - a 300W submersible heater
    - a couple pumps (unknown)
    - a bottle of kalkwasser mix
    - a bottle of calcium (liquid)
    - a few of half used supplements

It sound cazy for me to collect all these but not have a marine tank. Especially the one who sell me the pumps, he gave me all sort of things that he didn't need as he getting out from marine tank.

Here is my issue, should i make use of the 75 gallon tank? It's alot of money to spend for sand, live rock etc... to get it going. Also, lighting seems to be an issue? I am more into getting a 29 or even a 20 gallon tank to try out firt. Anyone have any idea about Southdown sand, is it same as reef sand that is saling in fish store with the ph buffering ability. Local fish store guys said they don't even want to try it out. Seems different from what I heard.

Thanks
    Ted :D.

2. Click Here!

3. karlas

karlas Fire Goby

welcome to the forum