Shrimp Question

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by bluetang08, Nov 16, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. bluetang08

bluetang08 Purple Spiny Lobster

Im new to the hobby and was wondering what shrimp would be compatible with my fire shrimp. I have a 125g 6' wide tank so there should be room but the reason i ask is because i used to also have a coral banded shrimp but he sadly died. Im not 100% but fairly sure the fire shrimp killed him during the night. I have been hesitant since to get any more shrimp. I was wondering if i should just try another coral banded or maybe just get a couple more fire shrimp. Also i recently (last week) added a scarlet hawkfish so i know that limits my possibilities, i was a little worried about the hawk with my current fire shrimp but the fish is small (1.5"), and the fire shrimp is large (2"), so im keeping my fingers crossed. Any input or advice is appreciated.

2. Click Here!

3. flynhawaiianz28

flynhawaiianz28 Purple Spiny Lobster

i would for sure keep an eye on that hawkfish once he starts to get bigger and the appetite grows b/c u dont want that fire shrimp to become a nice meaty snack for him. I'm not the best on shrimp and I'm sure other members will chime in but I suppose you could try maybe another frie shrimp or a cleaner shrimp maybe

4. anpgp

anpgp Dragon Wrasse

I would go with the cleaner shrimp. They are great shrimp as far as helping to keep ich and other things down.

5. stepho

stepho Panda Puffer

Fire shrimp will fight amongst themselves if kept more than one, unless a mating pair is established. As far as I know it is impossible to determine the sex of fire shrimp, so I wouldn't try it. I would try a peppermint shrimp if anything, as they are the cheapest shrimp.

6. stonewilled

stonewilled Feather Duster

Don't get peppermint shrimp unless you enjoy target feeding them every ten minutes to bribe them off eating your clean-up crew.