not gonna lie, im a noob and i need help!

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by adrox88, Dec 9, 2007.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. adrox88

adrox88 Plankton

hello, im a noob and i need help. i,ve been doing the freshwater thing for about 2 years and i think its time to move onto saltwater. i wanna start out with a 20g long tank and the biggest issue i am running into is the lighting. all i want to keep is fish, live rock, a few soft coral's and maybe an anemone. first question is, would a 1x65w 50/50 light be enough? the tank is only 12"deep and thats 3.25w/gallon.. seems like enough to me but im a noob. and the second thing is filtration. i dont exactly have the cash flow for a canister, but i do have a penguin bio-wheel 150 that im not using. its 150gph and i am also planing on using a power head as well, so will that work?.....or.... should i just except the fact that i dont really know what im doing and save the hassle and buy the 24g nano-cube.... i really wanna do it myself though. any input would be wonderful, thanks.

2. Click Here!

3. aquaboy

aquaboy Panda Puffer

the first question to ask yourself is how much you are willing to spend, then we can really help you. For a tank that shallow go t-5 HO. its 30" long right?

4. inwall75

inwall75 Giant Squid

That won't be enough light for the anemone. However, if you pick your corals wisely, I don't see why this setup wouldn't work.

5. reef_guru

reef_guru Humpback Whale

that wont be enough likght for the anemone, if your gonna use w/gal then over 7 would work. the bio wheel wont work either. so far the 24 nano should help. what about going bigger so there are more options, its just water.

6. adrox88

adrox88 Plankton