Newbie needs questions answered for his 125gallon tank hes starting!

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by petey463, Apr 22, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. petey463

petey463 Astrea Snail

I'm completely new to saltwater and just have some of my basics down. First off, I just bought a 125 gallon tank that I'm planning on turning into a FOWLR tank. At this time, I have nothing more than the tank and the stand. Basically, I just want to make sure I'm starting everything right. Lots of questions here folks, I hope you guys have fun with this one! I'm all ears and open to criticism, lol.

Before I start with my equipment I'm going to buy, I want it to be known that I plan on making my own live/dry rock, and probably cure it in my main tank since it's a brand new tank and nothing is going to die in it, hah. If curing it in the main tank is a bad idea, please let me know so I can cure it elsewhere. I plan on making roughly 150 pounds of rock in the 125 gallon tank... Too little, too much?! Eventually when everything is cured I plan on putting in 150pounds of live sand in... Again, too little? Too much!? Anyways, onto my plans for equipment!

Correct me if I'm wrong, or if I need to add better equipment, or if I'm over-killing some of my equipment for my tank so I don't waste money... hah...