Need help picking out my equpiment. Build my tank!

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by Jmblec2, Jan 22, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Jmblec2

Jmblec2 Corkscrew Tentacle Anemone

Hello All,

I am new to saltwater tanks. I have been to a few local places to get information but never know what to believe.

I am planning on going with a 75 gallon reef tank.

I would like to not do a sump tank if at all possible. I was told at my local shop they can be helpful but not 100% needed.

I want to try and avoid buying something twice so I want to get it right the first time. That is why I am here asking you fine people for help!

I do not want to spend a ton of money so i want to get the best bang for my buck, but i am willing to send money. i also don't want to get crazy with my lights just enough so i can grow almost all corals and they don't have to grow crazy fast. just live and be happy.

So please build me a 75 gallon reef tank item by item and please include brand names and excat product names so i can find them to buy.

thanks everyone!

if i am not clear enough please let me know and i will post additional info if needed.

2. Click Here!

3. 2in10

2in10 Super Moderator

You will want a skimmer like an Eshopps PSK-100H. For lights a 4X54W T5HO will meet your needs. ATI and Tek Elite are the best. You will need a 250W to 300W heater, Ebo-Jager is probably the best. You will need to get water circulation pumps. 4 Koralia Evo 750 would be a good start.

Aqua Cave, Big Al's and Marine Depot are good companies to buy from and are sponsors here. Just check out the sponsors to see what you can get.

4. 2in10

2in10 Super Moderator

Welcome to 3reef BTW.

5. blumoon reefers

blumoon reefers Millepora

Hi! Welcome to 3reef. Good for you for asking questions before you buy.