Horseshoe crabs

Discussion in 'Inverts' started by djnzlab1, Jun 11, 2007.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. djnzlab1

djnzlab1 Aiptasia Anemone

HI,
    I work in a lab so I am very interested in biology and variations that occur in nature , Most animals on this planet use iron to hold o2 in the blood with hemaglobin, now there is one exception and thats horseshoe crabs, they use copper in their blood to move o2.
    Now here's the question most animals ( humans and Others) need small amount of iron in their diet or they can't produce healthy red blood cells, If a horseshoe crab need copper would he provide some benafit to a sump by leaching out small amount of copper in the system to make blood as he grows larger.
    Many animals need alot of iron durin that growth curve, most crabs grow most of their life. so my question is this will horseshoe crabs help reduce and copper load in a system as they grow larger. So keeping a small horseshoe crab may provide some heavy metal protection.
    Just a thought. Guess what color their blood is..
    Doug
    I may start googling for info, I know there's a lab doing some type of research on their blood, for medical reasons.

hope this is interesting you too.
    [​IMG]

ps their blood is blue...

(((The medical profession uses an extract from the horseshoe crab's blue, copper-based blood called lysate to test the purity of medicines. Certain properties of the shell have also been used to speed blood clotting and to make absorbable sutures.
    )))

more stuff I love google.....